top of page
Writer's pictureKristin Bergene

Bridge

The other side of the creek.

I can see it from here, hiding behind rosebushes and ferns that shadow me.

Only, I know they way across without filling my boots with freezing water.

Over the log, careful when the gap between the rising, guiding branches is too wide. Shifting one foot out, so fragments of bark fall into the rushing shallow water below. I can just touch the next branch with my middle finger.

Quick breath.

Steady step.

I dare to cross.

All concern gone, I hop onto the other side of the creek.

I’m swallowed by rosebushes and shadowing ferns.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Beginning & End

Snapshots. That’s how he got up here. The green duffle bag had been under his bed. Already packed, though not well. How was he supposed...

Salvation

I stare at my knees. My lost day has been given back to me. Carol comes to check my pulse. She sticks the thermometer in my ear, sets my...

Comments


bottom of page