top of page
Writer's pictureKristin Bergene

Dear Politicians,

It’s that time a year again, when the leaves of brilliant reds, oranges and yellows float to the ground and so very slowly that bite of winter can be felt racing up noses with every breath. Children are back in their classrooms, energetic from their summer holiday and ready to start a new year in their education. It is the time when families start huddling up in their homes around warm fires and feeling ready for bed at 6pm with the darkness out their windows.

It is also that time of year, where the American public becomes visually bombarded with campaigns from politicians as they vie for checks on a ballot. (And no, I am not political expert – just a concerned America).

It is my right as an American citizen to vote, and with the history of women’s suffrage it is not a right that I take lightly. It is a serious decision as my vote will reflect my views on how our government should run and the decisions they should make. What I want is a candidate who knows a woman’s body is her own, that big problems will arises if the government chooses to step in and make declarations in regards to birth control and abortion. I want a candidate who will not judge a citizen by the color of their skin or who they love. They need to value education and teachers, understand the problem student debt has already started inflict on our entire nation, that guns are dangerous and there should be more checks before someone can buy them.

I’m a woman with a lot of opinions.

10301173_10153408770983868_2251417637877063205_n

Here’s my thing. I have these views, and the vote is my right, but while I’m frantically searching for a representative to defend my views, views that are exceptionally important to me, my options are too busy lying and scamming to assist me.

How can we make the smart choices if we can’t see through a well-defined political lie? If you are going to support the right for gays to be seen equally in the eyes of the law, that is something I don’t want you to hide away in your speeches to broaden your campaign. To start, you are devaluing the cause, which isn’t right. Stand up for this belief and show a face of confidence to those who want to support you and this view.

On the other side, if you’re telling me that when you win the vote you are going to attack the big problem of student loan debt in our country, then that is what you should be doing. You must make your decisions in favor of anything that can relive the financial strain on the generation that is coming up to define the American nation. Do not think for one second that your lies will slip by unnoticed once you’re in office by those who voted for you to help them.

Don’t betray your public, your nation, your country, to get votes.

I need someone who shares my concern and wants to be that strong voice to take care of these values. Every single American, who is registered to vote, wants the same. It wouldn’t ‘be nice,’ it wouldn’t ‘be helpful,’ it is necessary that those I vote for are truthful and excited to make change. As an American citizen, I respect the politicians who speak their voices for the ‘good’ or ‘bad’ of their votes. Bold and honest.

Sincerely, Kristin 

 

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Коментари


bottom of page