top of page
Writer's pictureKristin Bergene

How NaNoWriMo Went

I began November optimistic and sure of the storyline I had chosen. It was an idea I had always fiddled around with but never put down in writing – other than a few scratches in a notebook. Sitting at my computer on the 1st of November I wrote my daily goal of 2,500 words with ease. In fact it seemed too easy, and I was filled with the notion that the rest of this month would be just as easy.

That was the worst thought, I could have ever thought.

I passed on writing for the next day, saying tomorrow – and when tomorrow came, I passed it onto the next tomorrow and then the next tomorrow.

And on.

And on.

And on.

… until I eventually forgot that is was the time for NaNoWriMo. On the 1st of December, I knew I was forgetting something but 50,000 words never crossed my mind. It wasn’t until a week later that I realized…

I had forgotten about NaNoWriMo.

Not only did I not reach more than 2,500 words on this book, but somewhere along the way I completely forgot it was happening. My only guess is I was so wrapped up in my education that all other “responsibilities” were set aside – I have done this with food before. However, it did work in my favor – I think writing for class, writing for my book AND THEN writing for NaNoWriMo might have just been a bit too much.

Just a bit.

So on that note, see you next year NaNoWriMo! 

xx, Kristin

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page