top of page
Writer's pictureKristin Bergene

Kochanie : June 4th, 2011

This past Saturday, June 4, 2011 my dog of 13 years, 6 months and 1 day has passed. It was a horrible event, and I miss her far too much, everyday learning to cope without her as my shadow. My world has been overturned, and this is the first that I even found it possible to write about it. I would love to write a piece about her, a little ode, but I cannot find the words or the strength to create that piece yet.

She was my best friend. 

She was my shadow.

There is no doubt that she knew how much I loved her, or that if I could I would have taken all her pain to keep her in the world longer. However, on that Saturday morning, I was once again violently reminded that nothing last forever, even if it grows with you. She was with us for the loss of my grandfathers, so it seems silly to forget she would not be here with me everyday. But that also serves as another reminder, that even in the darkest moments, there can be a little light in moments of lost, and this time it is in the birth of my one of my best friends first child, Joseph.

I want to write her a beautiful piece, but for the moment that will have to wait. For now, this is my memoirs on the loss of a best friend. It will be impossible for me to forget that personality, and with all the people she has impacted – without ever leaving my home – I know there will be years of stories to tell. But for now, this is all I can say and it is enough to express my love and my loss.

Kochanie, you’re the best. I love you.


My Puppy

RIP Kochanie, June 4th 2011

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page