top of page
Writer's pictureKristin Bergene

Stroking the Navy of Night

I’d never seen something so calm – so beautiful. The way it grazed the land. Like a hand stroking the surface of the earth. Turning and grabbing the trees, homes, cars – anything in its journey. Lights were glowing within, stroking the navy of the night with hot white light. Spinning with it – spinning slowly. Ten miles, twenty miles wide – I could not tell. Could not feel alarm. Only the wonder, the awe, the loss of breath. The shouts of those around me getting caught in the air being pulled into silence. As I was – as the rotating headlights and the streetlights that had yet to realize that they were set free. Rotating. Spinning. I felt myself move towards it. Slow steps. Hair pulled in front of my face. Arms being held up from my sides with the wind as it grew stronger, stronger, stronger. The shouts, the screams. My name. Someone was calling me but as each step grew lighter and as I felt the wind holding me longer in stride and there was no turning back…

xx, Kristin 

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Beginning & End

Snapshots. That’s how he got up here. The green duffle bag had been under his bed. Already packed, though not well. How was he supposed...

Salvation

I stare at my knees. My lost day has been given back to me. Carol comes to check my pulse. She sticks the thermometer in my ear, sets my...

Comments


bottom of page