top of page
Writer's pictureKristin Bergene

“Big Dreams, Small Spaces”

This is one of my favorite shows on Netflix.

Monty Don is a charmer and a super humble gardener. The fact that I am so into this show shouldn’t be too surprising for anyone, knowing that I grew up with a dad who is a landscaper. My parents have spent hours and hours outside their home, working magic around their gardens. New patios, fountains, and different flowers for every season. There was always a beautiful space where I could bring a book to sit outside and read. It was a really special childhood!

Sometimes, I really think I missed the mark of becoming a horticulturist…

Now, I am not a homeowner (far from it), but for the first time, I have access to a garden. Even more importantly, I have a partner in crime, James. In other words, this is the time to learn! And there is no better way to learn, than by doing. And why not learn by recording here in the blog I have only written in annually for several years (whoops).

I have said I want to write more blog posts…

We began the job of taking care of this space in mid-February. We wanted to get an early start, as it was clear that we had a big job ahead of us.

Outside, there was not too much that we could do yet as the dirt was still frozen. We couldn’t get the weeds out, and it was just too cold to spend much time outside, even in the sun. James started by layering up and power washing the patio … and the house (he was having fun).

IMG_20200413_154025

Inside, however, we started our seedlings.

Way, way too early! 

But we learned a lot.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page